Margaret Allwright Award for Achievement in Nursing Practice

The Margaret Allwright Award for Achievement in Nursing Practice was launched on International Nurses' Day, 12 May 1992. The Award is offered annually to recognise a nurse whose work is of a high level of achievement and who has made a significant contribution to the principles and practice of nursing.

The Margaret Allwright Award is a significant professional award that recognises a leader in the nursing profession in Tasmania. The Margaret Allwright Award consists of a citation and gratuity valued at $1000.

Open for applications in 2019

Margaret Allwright OAM

Margaret Allwright trained at St. Johns Hospital in Hobart and is the only trainee from the hospital to then become Matron (D.O.N) of St Johns. Margaret was the second Registrar of Nurses at the Nursing Board of Tasmania and Chair of the Royal College of Nursing in Tasmania from 1983-1986.

Margaret then went on to become the Chief Nursing Officer for Tasmania. Among many achievements she was the National President of the Royal College of Nursing and received the Medal of the Order of Australia in 1983 in recognition of her service to nursing.


Applications open on May 12th and close on August 31st annually. The Award will be celebrated in November.

How to Apply

Submissions of:

  • Completed application form.
  • Description of a significant project that addresses the selection criteria (not exceeding 1000 words) together with supporting documentation or attachments.
  • Referee reports (2) familiar with the project.

Selection Criteria (What the Selection Committee will look for)

  • Addresses a contemporary nursing issue of significance.
  • Benefits to education/research and the principles or Nursing Practice.
  • Ability of the applicant to further the development of Clinical Practice.
  • A clear outline of the development of the project and the extent of the commitment of the applicant.
  • Willingness to promote nursing to the wider community.
  • Presentation and format will be considered.
  • Accord with the Florence Nightingale Grants and Award mission statement.


  • The Award will be presented at a professional assembly each year.
  • The selection committee reserves the right not to make an award in any one year.
  • The recipient will submit the project for publication.
  • The decision of the Selection Committee is final.